xoxo, Your Ticket Agent

FullSizeRenderA new year, a new odd job. I recently finished a stint working the box office at a renowned international film festival in Park City, UT. The job was busy, stressful, and at times made me feel flat-out, cross-eyed insane, but I loved every minute of it. There’s nothing quite like trouble shooting technology, racing against the clock, and meeting larger-than-life personalities at any and all hours of the day. Most patrons I helped were incredibly nice, understanding, and enjoyable to work with. That being said, you know me. Obviously I had seven thoughts on the job… Good and bad. I’d like to express them now:

1) Seeing a movie is a treat. Being part of the first large audience to see a screening of a new movie is an even bigger treat. It doesn’t make a difference what that movie is. No matter how long you stand in line or how hyped up you are about a certain film, obtaining a movie ticket is a privilege. Embody the spirit of the festival. I’ll try my best to provide you with the tickets you desire, but be open and excited for any ticket you have the opportunity to procure. You might see something surprisingly phenomenal. You might see the most bizarre film in the world. Either way, you’ll have a story to tell.

2) Canadian charm gets you far in life. It’s hard for even the customer as fired up as heartburn after poutine to raise his voice in anger when you flash him a smile as delightful as peameal bacon on a bun and empathize with his troubles in a voice as sweet as grade B maple syrup. Thank you for your patience and sorry for your troubles, eh?

3) Always. Read. Directions. Remember those first multiple-choice tests we took in elementary school? Where there was a tricky step in the initial instructions and you’d fail if you did not comply? Or where choice A and choice D were almost the same, but D was correct? Those were supposed to teach us to always read the directions. Completely and accurately. No matter stress level or time crunch. If you buy a movie ticket to a theater located ninety minutes away, blatantly missing the online pop-up window telling you said theater is not in Park City, I owe you nothing. If you did not show up to the movie theater at least fifteen minutes in advance, as instructed online and at the box office, I owe you nothing. If you are just now reading the No Refund policy, congratulations! You know I owe you nothing.

4) Please don’t tell me you’re open to seeing any movie available and then shoot down every movie title I offer from my availability list and then ask for something I clearly did not offer. I am quite literate. I didn’t offer you the ticket because there isn’t one. I’m already losing my voice after ten hours of nonstop sales. Take the available ticket or don’t, but, for once in my life, I’d like to stop talking now.

5) PSA for all film festival goers and participants alike. Explore every facet of the festival. The actual films are, of course, the main focus, but check out the festival-specific lounges, cafes, and sponsorship pop-ups. By spending my lunch breaks wandering through almost every festival venue, I tasted a bunch of Park City’s best food, I heard Katie Couric lead a panel on gun violence, I sat on the world’s most fascinating heated patio furniture, I learned how to support women in film via social media, I received more free coffee than my heart could handle, and I sat in delightfully comfortable arm chairs in the second row of countless movie-maker interviews. Be open to the adventure of the festival. Who knows what you’ll stumble upon!

6) The film festival participants are some of the most gracious and inspiring people I have had the pleasure of meeting. I worked with several actors, directors, and producers entering the box office simply trying to procure tickets to their own films. It was rare I had any availability, but they were so kind and innocently excited to be part of the festival, that, no matter the ticketing outcome, our interactions were always fun and friendly. I wish all participants I came across success with their current and future endeavors! It was a pleasure meeting you.

7) See Sing Street. Written and directed by John Carney. US release date TBA. Just see it.


2 thoughts on “xoxo, Your Ticket Agent

  1. Movies have always been a big part of my life – from the Saturday matinees in the fifties to the present day Oscar contenders. The candour, integrity and humour found in your insights as a ticket agent was a pleasure to read. We particularly enjoyed your remarks about taking in the whole festival experience. Since you reference your Canadian roots, we too are proud of the many good movies made in Canada. Also TIFF has a huge following as well. We definitely will see “Sing Street” – the trailer looks terrific.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment